MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#79
José Abreu
AVG HR RBI
.300 10 27
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 6-3 / 260 NFBC ADP: 60.04
Position: 1BBorn: 1/29/1987 Birthplace: Cienfuegos, Cuba
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by White Sox (2013)


Latest News
May 27 10:23 PM PT11:23 PM MT12:23 AM CT1:23 AM ET1:23 ET5:23 GMT13:23 10:23 PM MST12:23 AM EST12:53 AM VEN9:23 UAE12:23 AM CT-Jose Abreu went 3 for 5 Friday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Detroit Tigers 8-2. Abreu scored once. He ended the game with a .300 batting average.
Analysis: Abreu has been absolutely mashing during a seven-game hitting streak in which he's 16 for 33 (.485) with three homers, six RBIs and nine runs scored. Five of his 10 home runs have come since May 15.
May 24 6:39 PM PT7:39 PM MT8:39 PM CT9:39 PM ET21:39 ET1:39 GMT9:39 6:39 PM MST8:39 PM EST9:09 PM VEN5:39 UAE (+1)8:39 PM CT-Jose Abreu went 4 for 5 with a double, a home run and three RBIs Wednesday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 8-6. The homer was his 10th of the season. Abreu scored twice. He ended the game with a .291 batting average.
Analysis: Abreu is heating up, batting .464 with three homers, three doubles, six RBIs and eight runs during a six-game hitting streak. The White Sox play their next four against the Tigers, and Abreu is 8 for 16 with two home runs, a double, triple and five RBIs in four against them this season.
May 24 6:51 AM PT7:51 AM MT8:51 AM CT9:51 AM ET9:51 ET13:51 GMT21:51 6:51 AM MST8:51 AM EST9:21 AM VEN17:51 UAE8:51 AM CT-Abreu went 2 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4. The homer was his ninth of the season. Abreu scored twice. He ended the game with a .276 batting average.
Analysis: All nine of Abreu's home runs have come on the road.
May 23 6:42 AM PT7:42 AM MT8:42 AM CT9:42 AM ET9:42 ET13:42 GMT21:42 6:42 AM MST8:42 AM EST9:12 AM VEN17:42 UAE8:42 AM CT-Jose Abreu went 1 for 4 with a double Monday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-1. He ended the game with a .273 batting average.
May 22 10:18 AM PT11:18 AM MT12:18 PM CT1:18 PM ET13:18 ET17:18 GMT1:18 10:18 AM MST12:18 PM EST12:48 PM VEN21:18 UAE12:18 PM CT-Jose Abreu went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Seattle Mariners 8-1. Abreu scored once. He ended the game with a .273 batting average.
May 21 7:51 AM PT8:51 AM MT9:51 AM CT10:51 AM ET10:51 ET14:51 GMT22:51 7:51 AM MST9:51 AM EST10:21 AM VEN18:51 UAE9:51 AM CT-Abreu went 2 for 5 with a double and an RBI Saturday as the Chicago White Sox beat the Seattle Mariners 16-1. Abreu scored twice. He ended the game with a .274 batting average.
Analysis: He's 5 for 10 in the last two games.
May 20 10:26 AM PT11:26 AM MT12:26 PM CT1:26 PM ET13:26 ET17:26 GMT1:26 10:26 AM MST12:26 PM EST12:56 PM VEN21:26 UAE12:26 PM CT-Abreu went 3 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Friday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Seattle Mariners 2-1. The homer was his eighth of the season. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
Analysis: He's homered in three of his last five games.
May 19 7:47 AM PT8:47 AM MT9:47 AM CT10:47 AM ET10:47 ET14:47 GMT22:47 7:47 AM MST9:47 AM EST10:17 AM VEN18:47 UAE9:47 AM CT-Jose Abreu went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-4. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
May 18 7:37 AM PT8:37 AM MT9:37 AM CT10:37 AM ET10:37 ET14:37 GMT22:37 7:37 AM MST9:37 AM EST10:07 AM VEN18:37 UAE9:37 AM CT-Jose Abreu went 2 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Wednesday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 12-8. The homer was his seventh of the season. Abreu scored twice. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
May 17 10:10 AM PT11:10 AM MT12:10 PM CT1:10 PM ET13:10 ET17:10 GMT1:10 10:10 AM MST12:10 PM EST12:40 PM VEN21:10 UAE12:10 PM CT-Jose Abreu went 1 for 5 Tuesday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 7-6. Abreu scored once. He ended the game with a .261 batting average.
May 16 6:33 AM PT7:33 AM MT8:33 AM CT9:33 AM ET9:33 ET13:33 GMT21:33 6:33 AM MST8:33 AM EST9:03 AM VEN17:33 UAE8:33 AM CT-Abreu went 1 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Monday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-3. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
Analysis: He's just 2 for 18 in his last five games.
May 14 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST8:41 PM EST9:11 PM VEN5:41 UAE (+1)8:41 PM CT-Jose Abreu went 0 for 2 Sunday as the Chicago White Sox beat the San Diego Padres 9-3. Abreu scored once. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
Analysis: Abreu walked twice and has a .308 OBP in his last six games despite going 2 for 20.
May 13 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Jose Abreu went 1 for 3 Saturday as the Chicago White Sox topped the San Diego Padres 5-4. Abreu scored once. He ended the game with a .268 batting average.
Analysis: Abreu, just 2 for 18 in his last five games, is 3 for 14 lifetime against Jered Weaver, Sunday's scheduled starter.
May 13 9:58 PM PT10:58 PM MT11:58 PM CT12:58 AM ET0:58 ET4:58 GMT12:58 9:58 PM MST11:58 PM EST12:28 AM VEN8:58 UAE11:58 PM CT-Jose Abreu went 0 for 4 Friday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the San Diego Padres 6-3. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
May 12 9:06 PM PT10:06 PM MT11:06 PM CT12:06 AM ET0:06 ET4:06 GMT12:06 9:06 PM MST11:06 PM EST11:36 PM VEN8:06 UAE11:06 PM CT-Jose Abreu went 0 for 5 Thursday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Minnesota Twins 7-6. He ended the game with a .275 batting average.
May 10 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Jose Abreu went 1 for 3 with an RBI Tuesday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-2. He ended the game with a .287 batting average.
May 7 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Jose Abreu went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Baltimore Orioles 4-0. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
May 6 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Jose Abreu went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Saturday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-5. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .294 batting average.
Analysis: Abreu is enjoying a power surge, going 8 for 18 with three home runs in his last four games.
May 5 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Jose Abreu went 3 for 5 with a double Friday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 4-2. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
Analysis: Abreu tied a season high with three hits and has hit safely in 10 of his last 11 games. He's 19 for 45 (.422) with four homers and eight RBIs in that span.
May 4 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Jose Abreu went 2 for 5 with a double, a home run and two RBIs Thursday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Kansas City Royals 8-3. The homer was his fourth of the season. Abreu scored twice. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
May 4 9:24 AM PT10:24 AM MT11:24 AM CT12:24 PM ET12:24 ET16:24 GMT0:24 9:24 AM MST11:24 AM EST11:54 AM VEN20:24 UAE11:24 AM CT-Jose Abreu went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Wednesday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Kansas City Royals 6-1. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
May 3 8:50 AM PT9:50 AM MT10:50 AM CT11:50 AM ET11:50 ET15:50 GMT23:50 8:50 AM MST10:50 AM EST11:20 AM VEN19:50 UAE10:50 AM CT-Jose Abreu went 1 for 5 Tuesday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Kansas City Royals 6-0. Abreu scored once. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
May 2 8:16 AM PT9:16 AM MT10:16 AM CT11:16 AM ET11:16 ET15:16 GMT23:16 8:16 AM MST10:16 AM EST10:46 AM VEN19:16 UAE10:16 AM CT-Jose Abreu went 0 for 4 Monday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-1. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
Analysis: Abreu finally cooled off after recording two hits in six consecutive games, going 12 for 26 with a pair of homers during that hot stretch. The Chicago slugger also has had success against Tuesday's scheduled starter, Danny Duffy, having gone 12 for 34 (.353) with a home run off the Kansas City left-hander.
Apr. 30 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Abreu went 2 for 4 with a triple and an RBI Sunday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 7-3. He ended the game with a .280 batting average.
Analysis: He is 12 for 22 in his last six games.
Apr. 29 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Abreu went 2 for 3 with two home runs and two RBIs Saturday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Detroit Tigers 6-4. The homers were his first and second of the season. He ended the game with a .269 batting average.
Analysis: Abreu, who has been hobbled of late, is 10 for 18 in his last five games.
Apr. 26 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE2:58 PM CT-Abreu was not in the lineup Friday after he left Wednesday's game against the Kansas City Royals with an injury after flubbing a slow ground ball in the fifth inning.
Analysis: Abreu reportedly expected to play Friday, but the team wants him to rest a little longer.
Apr. 22 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Abreu's struggles continued Saturday with an 0-for-2 effort against Cleveland.
Analysis: Abreu has a hit in just one of his last eight games, a stretch during which he's 3 for 28. Abreu's average is down to .183 and he's still without a home run.
Apr. 19 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Abreu had three hits, including an RBI double in Chicago's 9-1 loss to the Yankees.
Analysis: Abreu had been just 2 for 31 over his previous eight games.
Apr. 4 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Abreu went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI on Tuesday in the season opener against Detroit.
Analysis: Abreu has recorded three consecutive seasons of 30-plus doubles, 25-plus home runs and 100-plus RBIs to start his career, the first player in White Sox history to accomplish that feat.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 CWS 145 556 80 176 35 2 36 107 51 131 3 1 .317 .383 .581
2015 CWS 154 613 88 178 34 3 30 101 39 140 0 0 .290 .347 .502
2016 CWS 159 624 67 183 32 1 25 100 47 125 0 2 .293 .353 .468
2017 CWS 45 180 30 54 10 1 10 27 12 32 0 0 .300 .354 .533
Career 503 1973 265 591 111 7 101 335 149 428 3 3 .300 .360 .516


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.